Celebrations at GCSE Presentation Evening

The GCSE presentation evening is always a very special event in the school’s calendar as students, parents, staff and Governors gather together to award subject prizes and examination certificates. Each year we invite a guest speaker to make the awards and this year Gavin Williamson MP (Member of Parliament for South Staffordshire and Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister) joined us to share his experiences, recognise the students’ success and encourage them to strive to achieve their goals. In addition to awarding examination certificates we also award special prizes to those students who have excelled in their performance. We are grateful to the sponsors of these prizes for their support in helping us to recognise and reward performance at such an impressive level.

We are very proud of our students and their achievements and whether they have chosen to continue their education at Ounsdale, are attending college or taking up employment through apprenticeships or training, we wish them all well in the future and look forward to hearing of their future successes.

This year’s prize winners were:

Best Result at GCSE Cup – Amy Boswell

(Donated by: Mr P Jordan)

Holroyde Prize – Charlotte Summers

(Donated by: Dr H Holroyde MA)

Contribution to the Arts Trophy – Marinus Augostine

(Donated by: Mr J T Hill)

Physical Education Cup – Maisie Duckworth

(Donated by: Abbiss of Wombourne)

Design and Technology: Resistant Materials Cup – Jason Green

(Donated by: Mr & Mrs Cartwright)

Design and Technology: Graphics Cup – Megan Broome

(Donated by: Mr & Mrs Ward)

Design and Technology: Food Prize – Maisie Duckworth

(Donated by: Mrs C Dore)

Geography Prize – Benjamin Adams

(Donated by: Mr G Hoppington)

Business Studies Prize – William Lochhead

Artist of the Year Cup – Philippa Traynor

(Donated by: Mr & Mrs Cartwright)

Drama Trophy – Charlotte Green

(Donated by: Mr and Mrs R L Collins)

Dance Prize – Sarai Johnson

Media Studies Cup – Todd Lewis

(Donated by: The Kelly family)

Cllr Mrs Joan Williams Cup Awarded for Science – Maggie Taylor

Science BTEC Prize – Jessica Evans

Mathematics Prize – Benjamin Jarvis

(Donated by: Mr & Mrs R D Garbett)

Religious Education Prize – Paige Ward

(Donated by: Mrs P Holder)

Music Shield – Olivia Ives

(Donated by: Mr & Mrs Cartwright & Mr Cottis)

Information Technology Prize – Charlotte Lem

Modern Foreign Languages: German & French – Romily Trice

Health and Social Care Prize – Eleanor Howe

History Prize – Marinus Augostine

(Donated by: Rotary Club of Sedgley & Wombourne)

English Prize – Chelsea Watkiss

(Donated by: Mrs G Thirlby)

Construction Prize Student of the Year 2012-13 – Demi Stackhouse

Children In Need 2013

Staff and students of Ounsdale are incredibly proud of the outstanding £1247.88 raised for Children In Need 2013.  The events taking place included fancy dress, ‘where a onsie’, a student vs staff penalty shoot out, a raffle and cake stall.  The day was not only fun but very rewarding and we would like to thank Mrs Woodus, Mrs Chapman and the sixth form students who helped to coordinate the days events.

Celebrating Sporting Success

On Thursday 10th October Ounsdale’s PE Department hosted their third successful Sports Awards Ceremony at Wombourne Civic Centre.  The evening was enjoyed by students and staff, along with friends and relatives.

We were delighted and entertained by our guest speaker, Mr Alan Wiley, a former Premier League Football Referee who took questions from guests.

The evening was also an opportunity to see how talented and creative our students are as we were impressed by a contemporary dance performance by Rhiannon Shipley who performed with her cousin, Catriona Taylor and a street dance performance by Arnav Sharma.

The award ceremony was a celebration to acknowledge the excellence, commitment, team work and determination shown throughout  students’ participation within their sporting activities.  All students should be very proud to have been nominated for their awards.

Winners and nominations were as follows:

The Sports Personality of the Year Award was deservedly won by Tom Hussey

John Rothery Cup for Year 7 Boys: James Fletcher, Tom Cottis, Winner – Tom Hunt

John Rothery Cup for Year 7 Girls: Tara Salt, Lucia Johnson, Winner – Rosie Taylor

John Rothery Cup for Year 8 Boys: Jack Lewis, Jake Walton, Winner – Oliver Southall

John Rothery Cup for Year 8 Girls: Annabel Goudie, Natalie Galway, Winner – Ellie Slater

John Rothery Cup for Year 9 Boys: Jon Blower, Sam Hadley, Winner – Joe Millichamp

John Rothery Cup for Year 9 Girls: Katie Evans, Cara Bird, Winner – Grace Boyling

John Rothery Cup for Year 10 Boys: Daniel Holmes, Will Goudie, Winner – Noel Howell

John Rothery Cup for Year 10 Girls: Madyson Dunning, Gemma Evans, Winner – Rebecca Linney

John Rothery Cup for Year 11 Boys: Tom Hussey, Jake Thompson, Winner – Kyle Pearson

John Rothery Cup for Year 11 Girls: Maisie Duckworth, Megan Priest, Winner – Rebecca Jacobs

The GCSE PE Award was won by Maisie Duckworth

The BTEC PE Award was won by Charlotte Linney

The A Level PE Award was won by Olivia Churchill

The Team of the Year Award was won by the Year 11 Football Team